The Bottom Fell Out

The advice I dish out is a bit hard to swallow at times, isn’t it?

“You never know until you try!”

“If you fail, pick yourself up again. Failing is part of trying.”

Shucks. How can I expect anyone to take my advice when I can barely take it myself?

After many sleepless nights, inner-dialogue and debate, I finally kicked myself into action. “If I don’t try, I’ll never know. What’s the worst that can happen?” The worst is that I’ll fall flat on my face! Finally, I stopped talking myself out of it and talked myself into it. I took a chance, I risked everything and made my next move.

She shoots!

IMG_5376She…

…misses!

Ah rats!

I failed, I did. It’s not easy accepting this, but it is part of life. I tell myself, “It wasn’t meant to be. I’ll be ok! There’ll be other opportunities like this.” As of right now, this is difficult to believe. I hardly feel like pep-talking myself.

The truth is, there might not be another opportunity like this one, but something greater will come along. I won’t be sitting here waiting, I’ll be out there searching. I won’t give up, no matter how self-shattering defeat might make me feel, I know that it is only a passing feeling. Soon, I’ll be back to motivating myself and bouncing off the walls with excitement.

We can all bounce back from failure, we just need to know that “this too shall pass.”

Standard

Share your thoughts

