Do Your Best!

My voice might never be heard around the world, I most likely will not be a chapter in a history book, and more likely than not my name will be forgotten by many. Will this stop me from trying to change the world? No, it won’t. Do I really think that I’ll influence major changes? No, not major changes. Why do I keep trying? Well, I believe that someone somewhere will listen. Someone will take what I say and implement it into their own life. For me, that’s an accomplishment. Changing the world one-step-at-a-time.

The reason I bring this up is not for any self-righteous discernment, but to show that even a minor positive change can make a major impact; we just need to try.

While telling my pre-schoolers to “try” to do the work before they ask for help or say, “I can’t do it!” (which perturbs me because they can! Some are being lazy and others are intimidated), they ask me, “What is try?”

What is try?! How am I going to explain this one? 

“Try is when you don’t know if you can do something, but you do it anyways. If you can’t do it, you try, and try again until you can.” That was my best answer. Now, whenever I ask them to try, they will sit down and do their best. They make me proud each and every day. This is a small lesson that I have taught my pre-schoolers, but it is something that they will carry with them through life, one of the few things they’ll remember from pre-school. By next year they will have forgotten my name, but will remember the values I have helped instill in them. IMG_2052

If 3-5 year olds can master ‘try,’ then why is it misunderstood by so many adults?

Where in life did we get lost? Many of us find jobs that can pay our bills and settle. We’re bored with our jobs, we stop progressing in life, and each day becomes mundane in its own right. Let’s not be stuck in this rut. Life is meant to be lived, not just had. New experiences will feed your mind, body, and soul. Our minds thirst for adventure, our bodies hunger for exercise, and our souls crave love and excitement.

If something is making us unhappy, we should change that something. If we don’t try, we’ll never succeed. Go on, take that leap into the unknown.

Standard

Share your thoughts

