Run the Good Race

As a whole we tend to race against the clock, constantly speeding and missing little moments. For what, though? Time will always win. I’ll put my money on that.

I’m guilty of becoming easily frustrated on the road, how can I not be? There are so many bad drivers out there. I’m constantly questioning the DMV’s driving test, their standards must not be very high. Hmmm.

I know I’m not the only one that feels this way, is there something we can do? YES. Stop racing! When racing we are all at risk, let’s take our time and enjoy the ride. Traffic? Yeah, that happens. Should we stress it? No, because as previously stated, traffic happens. If only we could find a way to accept this fact and deal with it maturely? Oh, here’s an idea! Leave earlier. Leaving early can give us more leeway and cushion room. Just like a couch, cushion room is so much more cozy than nothing. I’m almost always on-time.

We don’t only race while driving, we race in so many more aspects of life. I propose a challenge, a handful of people will be able to do this, most won’t even try. Oh trust me, that’s optimism!

Well, anyways, here it is:

  • Put the phone away! At first it might be hard, but how many times have we been out with our friends and texted other people instead of engaging in real conversation? How many times have we been out to dinner and put our cell-phones on the table next to our menus? How many people accept this as being perfectly ok? Am I just an old soul that enjoys the freedom from technology? Don’t get me wrong, I do love some technology, like my laptop, it holds so much that I love, memories.
  • Smile and say hello to a stranger. I’m not saying hop in their car or anything, I’m just saying that if we take the time to smile at a stranger we might be brightening their day. Did you know that the moods of others reflect those of your own? We are mirrors of each other. Did you know that even a fake smile/laugh will send happy endorphins through your body and soon you’ll have real smiles/laughs? I do! Don’t believe me? Try it.
  • Help our Earth. We may have so many differences, but one  commonality will hold true, (until we can live on the moon, of course), we all share Earth. Can we please do more to help our environment? As soon as we can respect all living creatures, big and small, we can truly respect ourselves.

I would like to share a quote from my favorite author of all time:

“Unless someone like you cares a whole awful lot, nothing is going to get better. It’s not.” -Dr. Seuss

Standard

Share your thoughts

